When a new Page or Blog post is first created, it's a draft, and is visible only to you until you publish it. You can experiment with content and design until you're satisfied before making your page public.
Before you publish a draft, other users will see a placeholder for your new page. The placeholder is simply the title of your new page, plus a "coming soon..." message.
Here's what you'll see in a new page, as the author who created it:
And here's what other users will see if they navigate to that page:
Content and Layout Can Be Edited in Draft Mode
Changes to the page content, or to the page layout and design, both create a draft of the page. So, you can add or remove sections and columns to a page, and change them repeatedly. While you are making these changes in the draft, other users will continue to see the published version of the page, until you publish your draft.
Here's an example of a draft page being edited (this is what the author sees)....
And here's how the page looks to other users...
Finding your drafts
As you're browsing a site, the content that you have added or modified that's still in unpublished draft form will be visible to you only with a DRAFT watermark background. Other users will see the last published version (or the Coming soon placeholder):
...which will open a list of your drafts (any page on which you have unpublished edits):
Publishing your drafts
To publish a draft, simply click the checkmarkhover icon that will appear when you mouse over the top of the page you're editing, and click OK when prompted to confirm.
Historical Page Versions
As with page drafts, both content and page layout are preserved in historical page versions. If you browse through old page versions, or restore an older page version, you will restore both the older content and the older layout.
If you'd like to use Ad hoc Workflows instead of Zen's drafts and publishing feature, please see Configuring Zen for Comala Workflows.